UNITED KARNATAKA CHESS ASSOCIATION®

I STATE OF THE STA

(Affiliated to All India Chess Federation and Recognized by SAK, & Dept. of Youth Services & Sports, Govt of Karnataka)

26, Kanteerava Stadium, Kasturba Road, Bangalore - 560 001. Ph: 96118 32665

President: Anantha.D.P General Secretary: Aravind Shastry

April 10, 2016

Press Note

Gahan M G Champion

Karnataka State open Rapid and Blitz Chess Championship 2016 organized by Bangalore North Chess Forum, Bangalore concluded today at BEL Officers Club, Jalahally Bangalore. The two days championship was a selection trial for the National Rapid and Blitz Chess Championship 2016 to be held at Visakhapatnam, Andra Pradesh from 11-14th June 2016.

Gahan MG (ELO Rating 2296) from Mangalore emerged as champion of Karnataka State open Rapid Chess Championship 2016 by scoring eight and half points out nine rounds. Shiva S (1651) of Bangalore score eight points and emerged runner-up.

Sameer Gotane (1919) of Bangalore emerged as champion of Karnataka State open Blitz Chess Championship 2016 by scoring eight points out nine rounds. Balkishan A (2045) became runner up by scoring eight points. Both were tied for first place, but based on better tie break score, placings were decided.

Mr V Raghavendra, Vice President, United Karnataka Chess Association was the chief guest of the prize distribution ceremony. Mallappa Honnappanavar, secretary, Bharat Electronics Officers Club, Hanumanth VM, and Raju DH, office bearer, BEOC, Muralidhara GK and Prasanna Kumar L R, Bangalore North Chess Forum were the other dignitaries on the dais.



State Rapid Winner and Runner up - 2016 Gahan M G & Shiva S



State Blitz Winner and Runner up - 2016 Sameer Ghotane & Balkishan A.

Karnataka State Open Rapid Chess Championship 2016

Main Prize								
Place	Name	Rating		Pts	Prize			
1	Gahan M G	2296	MNG	8½	10,000			
2	Shiva S	1651	BLR	8	8,000			
3	Sriram Sarja	2189	SMG	7½	6,000			
4	Balkishan A.	2072	BLR	7½	5,000			
5	Raghavendra V.	1989	BLR	7	4,000			
6	Joshi Nikhil C.	2103	BLR	7	3,000			
7	Nishanth H N	1675	HSN	7	2,000			
8	Ankit Payal	1632	BLR	7	1,500			
9	Varun Anant	1786	BLR	7	1,500			
10	Sameer Ghotane	1955	BLR	7	1,500			
11	Sridhar R	1918	BLR	7	800			
12	Darshan V P S	1755	MDY	7	800			
13	Audipudy Sitaram	1632	BLR	7	800			
14	Thyagaraj M T	1646	HSN	7	800			
15	Santoshkashyap Hg	1953	BLR	6½	800			
16	Ansuman Mohanty	1540	BLR	6½	700			
17	Venu Madhav P L	1277	BLR	6½	700			
18	Ajith M.P.	1915	MYS	6½	700			
19	Sugyan Prakash Maharaj	1685	BLR	6½	700			
20	Harisha Babu H R	0	BDVT	6½	700			

Karnataka State Open Blits Chess Championship 2016

Main Prize								
Place	Name	Rating		Pts	Prize			
1	Sameer Ghotane	1919	Blr	8	6,000			
2	Balkishan A.	2045	Blr	8	5,000			
3	Gahan M G	2269	Blr	7½	3,500			
4	Sriram Sarja	2175	Smg	7	2,500			
5	Raghavendra V.	1922	Blr	7	2,000			
6	Shiva S	1651	Blr	7	1,500			
7	Ajith M.P.	1889	Mys	7	1,200			
8	Dasari Dattatreya Rao	1713	Blr	7	1,000			
9	Sudarshan Bhat	1445		7	1,000			
10	Joshi Nikhil C.	2153	Blr	6½	1,000			
11	Varun Anant	1753	Blr	6½	600			
12	Nambiar Vivek	2162	Blr	6½	600			
13	Sridhar R	1918	Blr	6½	600			
14	Sugyan Prakash Maharaj	1669	Blr	6½	500			
15	Nishanth H N	1673	Hsn	6½	500			
16	Ankit Payal	1546	Blr	6½	500			
17	Jatin S N	1562	Mys	6½	500			
18	Audipudy Sitaram	0		6	500			
19	Upendra K	1674	Blr	6	500			
20	Darshan V P S	1773		6	500			

For UNITED KARNATAKA CHESS ASSOCIATION (R)

Aravind Shastry General Secretary